Snugglepartyquilts's Blog

Getting ready for the show! AQS comes to Lancaster 3/16-3/19/11

Posted on: March 12, 2011

I’m really excited for this week to start. AQS is returning to Lancaster for the 2nd annual Quilt Show and Contest. I spent the day preparing for the two classess I am taking. Wed I’ll be learning a raw edge applique technique taught by Sue Nichols. On Thursday I’m attending an all day workshop with Karen Kay Buckley. Karen will be teaching us he Ocean Sunrise quilt, a paper pierced beauty that also uses machine applique techniques. Applique is my weak spot. I find the carpal tunnel really comes out when I hand applique so time to learn other techniques! Plus I can then share what I’ve learned in my own classes.

I’ll also be meeting up with Facebook quilter friends, doing a little fabric shopping and attending a few other events. Saturday is volunteer day for me. Our local quilt guild provides the volunteers to help the show to run smoothly during those four days. Besides “white gloving” (we don’t really wear white gloves) our guild members man the coat check and package check areas and help out at the special events. Last year over 800 man hours were provided. This year should be even better, with a revised shuttle service, vendors all in one building, and a terrific line up of fabulous, world class teachers. I am so in my element when I’m around quilters.

Leave a Reply

Quilts and quilt related topics

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

